Excerpeutic 5000 Review

  • Excerpeutic 5000 Review
  • Excerpeutic 5000 Review
  • Excerpeutic 5000 Review
  • Excerpeutic 5000 Review
  • Excerpeutic 5000 Review
  • Excerpeutic 5000 Review

You are right to hold the view that cheap is expensive but what Exerpeutic brand wants you to know about them is that cheap is great. You can reap almost all the great benefits an elliptical can offer when you use Exerpeutic 5000.

Exerpeutic 5000 is a budget machine carrying features only found in high-end models. As far as performance goes, the machine packs a staggering 24 levels of resistance and 12 workout programs. In a minute, you will find out about its many other decent features.

  • Product
  • Deals
  • Photos
  • Last reviews
Exerpeutic 1318 5000 Magnetic Elliptical Trainer with Double Transmission Drive
The Exerpeutic 5000 Magnetic Elliptical Trainer can handle up to a 270 lbs. user weight capacity. Smart phones and tablets holder will allow you towatch a movie, read a book, check your email using ...
Start from: $391.00
amazon amazon.com
Last price update: 2019-09-02 21:00:32
Update: it’s been a little over a year with this product, used 4-10 times a week. I’ve lost 35 lbs between using this elliptical and tracking calories. Product is still holding up, sometimes it squeaks or clicks but I’ve gotten used to it and it’s not overly loud or annoying. Overall very happy with this purchase!!Was not expecting commercial quality equipment for the price. Overall I'm pleased, so first here are the negatives:The 18" stride is better than some of the other machines in this price range, but it's still not great. I'm 5'10" and it's okay but I'd rather a little longer. Again probably the best for this price.Quality is a little cheap feeling, but for the price what can you expect. Assembly was not too bad, I opted to use real tools rather than the tools they provide which made it easier and go faster also allowing me to tighten things better. After reading comments I also added extra blue loctite and lithium grease to try and prevent squeaks and rattles. Only partially helpful: after a week I took everything apart chasing a squeak til I found the loose bolts and tightened them. No squeaks for a while and now a new one which I'll track down eventually.During assembly both wave washers broke, and getting new ones was easy, sent an email request and had them in a few days.Was hoping for more from the mobile app, but it's really just a mirror of the display. I deleted it from my phone and tablet and don't use it at all.The display is ok but for the price you're not gonna get anything fancy. Good enough for time, progress and calories. The calories and speed seem to be off - not sure if there's a calibration but the calories are about 1/4 of what I've seen on other machines or fitness trackers so I just multiply by 4.At first I was worried about the resistance being too high even on level 1, but after a month I've gotten used to it and do interval programs up to level 16. It goes as high as 24 which is pretty intense, maybe one day I'll get there.Now for the good:Compact size makes it great if you don't have a dedicated workout room. I'm able to push it up against the wall and pull it out to face the tv in the basement during use. Having it in the home has been great to use any time of the day without having to be motivated to leave for the gym. It's been a great addition for exercise in addition to dietary changes. The display is simple to use and makes working out easy to get started. It's study enough especially for the price. If you want something small in the home to get your workout and get you started with fitness, this is a great product. Just don't expect too much as it is a budget friendly item.
December 30, 2016
I love this machine, I am very happy I bought it that being said here are the issues I encountered.When I first received the machine setting it up was time consuming, directions were easy to follow but it just took some time. Once getting the machine all set up I went to try it for the first time, I was so excited and then once getting on the machine so soo disappointed. Let me elaborate.. The resistance on level 1 was extreme.. Something didn't seen right to me.. prior to buying this machine I had a gym membership. One that I had solely for the purpose of using an elliptical. I'm not in terrible shape and could easily cruise on the gym elliptical for 45 minutes. I couldn't use this machine for more than 5 minutes without knowing something wasn't right. I then researched it a bit, including reading reviews on Amazon, as well customers questions on amazon inquiring about the resistance being extremely tough at low levels. I then contacted the manufacturers customer service and within 24 hours received an email with instructions as to how to remedy the issue. It was a known problem with the magnets on the tension strap. It ended up solving the problems but it was a huge inconvenience. I had to take parts of it apart again, parts that didn't even come disassembled originally and the video instruction didn't even tell me how to do this, we just had to go in using tools we luckily had hoping it worked. We ended up solving the problem after some trial and error.I use the machine daily, I love it now that it works as it should. I would recommend this to others if it wasn't for all of the trouble that I had initially.
July 30, 2016
I'm 5'10" and 175 pounds. The stride is comfortable for me, and doesn't feel significantly different than the 21 inch stride on the unit I was using at the gym. The biggest difference is the flatness of the ellipsis. Because it's a compact machine the elliptical motion is a little more circular, but not as much as a front drive machine. The stride is a smoother running-stride, rather than the stair-climbing stride of a front drive machine.The 1318-5000 is as close to a commercial model you can get without spending enormous amounts of money. The stride is also the longest you can get in a compact model with rear drive.keep in mind that, due to the angle of the drive mechanism, a front-drive machine has an effective stride 2" shorter than the advertised stride, unlike a rear-drive unit.So far, it's been whisper quiet and steady as a rock, even on carpet. It's light-weight and easy to move, but it's still fairly large so get help if you have to go around corners or anything.The design avoids large, bulky, flywheels by using two smaller flywheels and two belts, which doubles the overall gear ratio. It's very smooth, but the resistance is very strong. Even on the lowest level it is much more difficult than the machines I'm used to at the same setting. I looked to see if there was any obstruction, or if the magnets were dragging, but everything looks fine. According to other reviews I've found, that's just the way it's made. It kicked my butt at first, and I was already in pretty good shape. The levels are pretty close to each other, so you can increase the resistance very gradually, which is either a benefit or a drawback depending on your preference.The computer is a little complicated at first, but once you figure it out it's not bad. It's compatible with iOS and Android devices to track your progress, but it doesn't save anything itself. I don't use this function because I'm not trying to lose weight or anything; I'm just staying active. It also includes the power adapter, unlike some of the competition.I've owned other ellipticals and this one is my favorite.My first elliptical was also an Exerpeutic, but it was an entry level model that costs less than $100. I liked it a lot, but the stride was too short and it had a tendency to squeak and wobble (not a lot, but enough). Still, it made a good enough impression that I was willing to try a higher model. I'm very pleased that I did.The company stands behind their product, too. If you have a problem they respond very quickly.
September 4, 2018
7.5 Total Score
Very good!

Even though Exerpeutic 5000 is not the cheapest elliptical you will come across today, it still comes close and it doubles up as a great option for those looking out for quality budget ellipticals. As you've realized, the machine also has a few shortcomings but none of them takes a huge toll on its performance. So if you are looking out for ways to take your workout to the next level at an affordable cost, this is the machine for you. You can turn your wish into reality by visiting Amazon to make your order today.

Features
7
Durability
7.5
Adjustability
7
Display console
8
Value for money
8
PROS
  • Affordable
  • Quiet
  • Tech-friendly
  • Diverse and rigorous workouts
  • Smooth and continuous momentum
  • Full body workout
CONS
  • Build quality (reports of bolts coming loose)
  • Fixed stride length
  • Shorter warranty
  • Inaccurate pulse record
User Rating: Be the first one!

Product Description

For the price, Exerpeutic 5000 packs so much into its tiny space.  Technology has been accelerating at a crazy rate and with this in mind, creators of this machine didn’t want to be left behind. But before we jump into that, let’s start off by analyzing the machine’s performance features.

Resistance and Incline

Just like the high-end models, this machine makes use of magnetic resistance to challenge your workout. In controlling this resistance, advanced technology was applied to ensure that you only tap a button or use your iPhone to adjust the resistance.  You can choose a level you feel is right from its 24 levels so as to vary your workout.

An adjustable incline has always been the hallmark of an ideal elliptical trainer and this machine is proud to have one.  You can have diverse and rigorous training by switching between these incline levels.

Console Unit

Even though you will want to call it a minimalistic console, what this machine has for a console unit still offers all the essentials you need from a console unit. What’s even great is that they included additional tech-friendly features that simply put the machine amongst the greatest.

The console has an LCD display offering clear readings at a quick glance and also a reference guide to its 12 workout programs.

You can collect various workout data from this console including:

  • Time
  • Distance
  • Heart rate
  • Revolutions per minute
  • Watts
  • Calories burned

One thing that’s worth mentioning about this console is the inclusion of the “Mobile App Tracking” technology.  What this technology does is to enable you to keep track of your workouts while engaging in some other activity at the same time.  If you own a smartphone that uses either Android or iOS, you can link it to the system.

With the help of the Bluetooth connection, you can link your device to the machine easily and even set up your own personal profile with all your basic information. Provided you are connected, you will be able to keep a record of all your workout data. Note that you can still use your phone to make calls or perform other functions while it’s connected to the machine.

Build quality/ Design

Exerpeutic 5000 is made of high-quality steel and can take even the hardest of punishments. Users who weight as high 275 lbs can comfortably use it.

Another important aspect of this machine’s build quality and design is the 3-piece crank system. Together with the support of the two flywheels and belts, this system is able to turn that circulation motion into one of the smoothest elliptical course. It also leads to a consistent momentum and less impact your joints and knees during longer workouts.

For its stride length, you have 18″, which is quite a decent length for a budget elliptical trainer.

Comfort

A good number of users have in the past had problems with getting on and off the elliptical machines. For this machine, that was taken care of by keeping it low profile at only 6″ off the ground.  In between the pedals, there’s a space of about 6 inches which helps to keep down the strain your lower back, hips, and inner thighs. The pedals are also oversized to ensure you have enough space to work out and that your feet are intact throughout the workouts.

Dual action arms that come fixed on this machine will also ensure you have a full body workout which is actually any serious trainer’s prime goal. Users who are as tall as 6″ will also have it easy riding on this machine.

Assembly and Warranty

Like many other ellipticals, Exerpeutic 5000 doesn’t come fully built and so you will have to put in more effort in having it up and running. Since it’s a lighter machine, you can put it together alone. It’s also not complicated.  On average, it can take you almost an hour to have it ready. You will also have the support of the machine’s comprehensive manual.

For the warranty, don’t expect too much as it only comes with a 1-year limited warranty.

Alternatives

Exerpeutic 4000, a sister model to the Exerpeutic 5000 is its fiercest rival. The design and performance of these two machines are is same. Both are also very affordable with only a twenty-dollar difference between them. However, the 5000 model gets on edge over its sister when it comes to the use of technology. Use of the mobile application tracking technology that also utilizes Bluetooth connection puts Exerpeutic 5000 at the top. Deciding which one to own between these two depends on how you treat technology.

Another machine that comes pretty close is the Schwinn 430. Even though it’s priced a little higher than Exerpeutic 5000, the latter gives the former a good run for its money. Looking at the workouts and levels of resistance, it’s a game of compensation. Exerpeutic 500 has far more resistance levels than Schwinn 430 whereas Schwinn compensates for this with its high number of workout programs. Schwinn 430 also packs a number of fancy additional features on its console unit that Exerpeutic 5000 lacks which perhaps explains the price difference. Deciding between these two largely depends on how you treat you like your budget.

  • Product
  • Deals
  • Photos
  • Last reviews
Exerpeutic 1318 5000 Magnetic Elliptical Trainer with Double Transmission Drive
The Exerpeutic 5000 Magnetic Elliptical Trainer can handle up to a 270 lbs. user weight capacity. Smart phones and tablets holder will allow you towatch a movie, read a book, check your email using ...
Start from: $391.00
amazon amazon.com
Last price update: 2019-09-02 21:00:32
Update: it’s been a little over a year with this product, used 4-10 times a week. I’ve lost 35 lbs between using this elliptical and tracking calories. Product is still holding up, sometimes it squeaks or clicks but I’ve gotten used to it and it’s not overly loud or annoying. Overall very happy with this purchase!!Was not expecting commercial quality equipment for the price. Overall I'm pleased, so first here are the negatives:The 18" stride is better than some of the other machines in this price range, but it's still not great. I'm 5'10" and it's okay but I'd rather a little longer. Again probably the best for this price.Quality is a little cheap feeling, but for the price what can you expect. Assembly was not too bad, I opted to use real tools rather than the tools they provide which made it easier and go faster also allowing me to tighten things better. After reading comments I also added extra blue loctite and lithium grease to try and prevent squeaks and rattles. Only partially helpful: after a week I took everything apart chasing a squeak til I found the loose bolts and tightened them. No squeaks for a while and now a new one which I'll track down eventually.During assembly both wave washers broke, and getting new ones was easy, sent an email request and had them in a few days.Was hoping for more from the mobile app, but it's really just a mirror of the display. I deleted it from my phone and tablet and don't use it at all.The display is ok but for the price you're not gonna get anything fancy. Good enough for time, progress and calories. The calories and speed seem to be off - not sure if there's a calibration but the calories are about 1/4 of what I've seen on other machines or fitness trackers so I just multiply by 4.At first I was worried about the resistance being too high even on level 1, but after a month I've gotten used to it and do interval programs up to level 16. It goes as high as 24 which is pretty intense, maybe one day I'll get there.Now for the good:Compact size makes it great if you don't have a dedicated workout room. I'm able to push it up against the wall and pull it out to face the tv in the basement during use. Having it in the home has been great to use any time of the day without having to be motivated to leave for the gym. It's been a great addition for exercise in addition to dietary changes. The display is simple to use and makes working out easy to get started. It's study enough especially for the price. If you want something small in the home to get your workout and get you started with fitness, this is a great product. Just don't expect too much as it is a budget friendly item.
December 30, 2016
I love this machine, I am very happy I bought it that being said here are the issues I encountered.When I first received the machine setting it up was time consuming, directions were easy to follow but it just took some time. Once getting the machine all set up I went to try it for the first time, I was so excited and then once getting on the machine so soo disappointed. Let me elaborate.. The resistance on level 1 was extreme.. Something didn't seen right to me.. prior to buying this machine I had a gym membership. One that I had solely for the purpose of using an elliptical. I'm not in terrible shape and could easily cruise on the gym elliptical for 45 minutes. I couldn't use this machine for more than 5 minutes without knowing something wasn't right. I then researched it a bit, including reading reviews on Amazon, as well customers questions on amazon inquiring about the resistance being extremely tough at low levels. I then contacted the manufacturers customer service and within 24 hours received an email with instructions as to how to remedy the issue. It was a known problem with the magnets on the tension strap. It ended up solving the problems but it was a huge inconvenience. I had to take parts of it apart again, parts that didn't even come disassembled originally and the video instruction didn't even tell me how to do this, we just had to go in using tools we luckily had hoping it worked. We ended up solving the problem after some trial and error.I use the machine daily, I love it now that it works as it should. I would recommend this to others if it wasn't for all of the trouble that I had initially.
July 30, 2016
I'm 5'10" and 175 pounds. The stride is comfortable for me, and doesn't feel significantly different than the 21 inch stride on the unit I was using at the gym. The biggest difference is the flatness of the ellipsis. Because it's a compact machine the elliptical motion is a little more circular, but not as much as a front drive machine. The stride is a smoother running-stride, rather than the stair-climbing stride of a front drive machine.The 1318-5000 is as close to a commercial model you can get without spending enormous amounts of money. The stride is also the longest you can get in a compact model with rear drive.keep in mind that, due to the angle of the drive mechanism, a front-drive machine has an effective stride 2" shorter than the advertised stride, unlike a rear-drive unit.So far, it's been whisper quiet and steady as a rock, even on carpet. It's light-weight and easy to move, but it's still fairly large so get help if you have to go around corners or anything.The design avoids large, bulky, flywheels by using two smaller flywheels and two belts, which doubles the overall gear ratio. It's very smooth, but the resistance is very strong. Even on the lowest level it is much more difficult than the machines I'm used to at the same setting. I looked to see if there was any obstruction, or if the magnets were dragging, but everything looks fine. According to other reviews I've found, that's just the way it's made. It kicked my butt at first, and I was already in pretty good shape. The levels are pretty close to each other, so you can increase the resistance very gradually, which is either a benefit or a drawback depending on your preference.The computer is a little complicated at first, but once you figure it out it's not bad. It's compatible with iOS and Android devices to track your progress, but it doesn't save anything itself. I don't use this function because I'm not trying to lose weight or anything; I'm just staying active. It also includes the power adapter, unlike some of the competition.I've owned other ellipticals and this one is my favorite.My first elliptical was also an Exerpeutic, but it was an entry level model that costs less than $100. I liked it a lot, but the stride was too short and it had a tendency to squeak and wobble (not a lot, but enough). Still, it made a good enough impression that I was willing to try a higher model. I'm very pleased that I did.The company stands behind their product, too. If you have a problem they respond very quickly.
September 4, 2018