Schwinn 430 Review

  • Schwinn 430 Review
  • Schwinn 430 Review
  • Schwinn 430 Review
  • Schwinn 430 Review
  • Schwinn 430 Review
  • Schwinn 430 Review

Popularity and fame don’t come easily which perhaps explains why the Schwinn 430 elliptical machine isn’t your ordinary everyday fitness machine. Almost every home gym has it popular reason being that it’s a high impact fitness machine. Not only is it economical but it also offers first-class workout and health benefits. Using it is a piece of cake!

But Schwinn 430 is not without drawbacks. Top amongst them is the incline capabilities and heart rate monitoring. So is it worth your time and money?

Let’s find out.

  • Product
  • Deals
  • Photos
  • Last reviews
Schwinn 430 Elliptical Machine
Make sure this fits by entering your model number.; Dual track two LCD window system allows you to monitor up to 13 different display feedbacks; Schwinn Connect goal tracking and data export keep you ...
amazon amazon.com
Last price update: 2019-09-02 21:27:39
 We bought the Schwinn 430 after we decided our health club membership wasn't worth it. Best. Decision. Ever. Anyway, we are quite picky when it comes to big purchases, and prefer to buy trusted names, so Schwinn was at the top of the list. Like any smart consumer, we tested it out in a sporting goods store first, and it was super-stable feeling, plus it had all the bells and whistles we wanted: manual settings, heart rate monitor, adjustable incline and resistance, fan, dual display, ipod/iPad dock with speakers, etc. The only other contender was the Life Fitness models, but they were 2x the price and didn't seem to offer much more to justify the price.Basically, once it got to our home it only took me 45min to set up...the assembly wasn't difficult, just bolt on the handlebars, run a cable through the 'spine' and hook it up to the monitor, and bolt on the footpedals.We've used it on a regular basis now for a little over a month, and couldn't be happier...we keep the tension at about 4 (out of 20, which is probably a design contingency in case the Hulk buys one).The best thing about it is that we can get up, grab an iPad, put on Netflix, and watch a TV show or (part of) a film while getting healthy...this really helps to pass the time.Unless you are super-ridiculously-picky, you will be happy with this machine...good quality, nice design, more functionality than most people will ever need, and a great price. For more, check out the reviews here: http://amzn.to/1zbXjgZUPDATE SEPTEMBER 2016 - This thing is still running like a champ, no problems whatsoever, so I'm upgrading my review from 4 to 5 stars. The only thing I have to do is squirt some of this stuff http://amzn.to/2bYznsF on the tracks once every 2-3 weeks to keep it whisper quiet.
December 14, 2014
Let me start off by saying that my initial feelings about this elliptical were very positive, it is smooth, quiet and seemed sturdy but after two catastrophic failures in less than a year I have buyers remorse and no idea what to do with it now. The axle that is part of the flywheel assembly has snapped in half twice. I am not sure if there is too much stress on it due to poor design or if it is just poor quality metal. At 5'11 and 190 lbs I'm pretty sure I'm not too big for it so to have a critical component like that fail twice in less than a year is beyond frustrating. Schwinn will replace the parts but they won't pay for labor to install parts after 90 days and it requires a special tool to remove the old axle and a miracle to get the belt back on after finally getting the new flywheel/axle assembly installed (probably why it comes pre-assembled in the first place). A one time fluke I could tolerate but having this happen again ... time to trade up and invest in something intended for regular use. Very disappointed in Schwinn.Update 4/6/19 - Schwinn eventually replaced the entire unit the 4th time the same parts broke. Unfortunately the new one is also complete garbage. One of the foot peddles cracked and broke within a week of light use and just last week another bolt at the bottom of the left arm assembly sheered off inside the tube - no getting it out. The materials they are using in these are just not meant for stress of any kind, I've never seen bolts sheer like these continue to do every place you need to use them. Was going to replace with bolts from hardware store but I no longer feel safe using this thing or letting anyone else in the family use it ... imagine cruising along and then crashing to the ground with metal shards and handles flying all over. No thanks, this thing is going to the dump and I will never buy anything Schwinn again.
January 17, 2017
I ordered this machine to help me with my weight loss and fitness. I read a ton of reviews for several machines, watched review videos, and compared several side by side. I chose this one because of the price and because it is virtually identical to their top model for $200 less. Only difference is the 470 has a backlit screen and 4 user settings. But given I'm the only one using this machine what good would 3 extra user settings do me?You will have to schedule a delivery day and time when ordering because it must be signed for. But it was super easy and the delivery company bring it right inside your house and put it wherever you want it. That's a nice touch.Unless you order assembly you will have to put it together yourself. It won't take an hour like some people say, that's a great exaggeration. It will take a few hours but the instructions make it really simple and the machine comes with all the tools you'll need to assemble it.Machine went together smoothly with no complications, no broken parts, and no power issues. Everything works exactly like it should. Pay close attention to the power cable when feeding it thru the upright tube to make sure you don't pinch it cause that's probably where power issues come from but if you watch what your doing its really simple. And for all the reviews that complained about squeaking, or grinding sounds. YOU DIDNT READ THE INSTRUCTIONS!! It spells it out clear as day after assembly "take a cloth and the included silicone oil and rub down all moving parts to properly lubricate and keep them from rubbing and wearing out due to friction.This is the quietest and smoothest elliptical machine I've ever used. Definitely worth the money.
September 15, 2016
8.5 Total Score
Very good!

Schwinn 430 is without a doubt of the most durable and quality fitness machine you will ever find. If you also prefer a quiet workout, this should be your ultimate choice. Not forgetting to mention that it’s so stable, strong and reliable which are all features most fitness enthusiasts look out for. For its price, you can get so much value in return. Even though it has few weaknesses, none of them is enough to shake its goodness. Now, looking at all these innovative and quality features, who wouldn't want to give a thought to trying this machine out? Well, don't just stop at the review. Go right ahead and experience it for yourself. You can make your order on Amazon today.

Features
7.5
Durability
10
Adjustability
8
Display console
9
Value for money
8
PROS
  • It’s of good quality and very durable
  • Innovative performance monitor
  • Comfortable
  • Solid construction
  • Workout tracking
CONS
  • Incline capability, which many find to be slightly low compared to other machines in the same category which offer up to 20 degrees of incline
  • Not forgetting to mention the manual adjusting which is a bit time consuming
  • Weak sound system and cooling fan
  • Ineffective heart rate monitor which collects its date from the hand grips as opposed to a chest strap
User Rating: Be the first one!

Product Description

Schwinn is a reputable manufacturer of fitness machines and the Schwinn 430 elliptical machine is one of their most recent products. You can expect a number of innovative features from this machine and a system only seen on brands that fall on the higher side of the price range.Resistance and incline

On top of a manual lamp inclined at an angle of 10 degrees, Schwinn 430 also comes equipped with a total of six adjustable positions. You will also encounter a whopping twenty levels of eddy current resistance assisted by a perimeter weighted flywheel of high speed and inertia that will not only offer you a quiet but smooth workout.

Performance monitor

One of the most spectacular features of this fitness machine is its performance monitor. It comes installed with 22 programs, a heart rate monitor, a dual LCD display screen, all aimed at making your workout easier, more efficient and to have more effect.

Using this monitor, you can also keep track of:

  • Time
  • Distance
  • Speed
  • Revolutions per minute
  • Calories
  • Pulse
  • Resistance level
  • And so much more

Build quality

Stability and strength are two things you will notice first when you begin to analyze the Schwinn 430’s construction. Other than the oversized crossbar tubing, you will also encounter two integrated levelers and a center frame support all aimed at offering support, stability and ensure you have an efficient workout.

Comfort

Don’t we all like to have some bit of comfort when working out? Most of us do and the creator of this machine had that in mind. You can work out for longer times, thanks to the machine’s sizable footplates that allow a user to place their feet in a position they feel comfortable. The handle bars are not only ergonomically designed but static. Not forgetting to mention its quality sound system, a dock for your devices, a holder for water bottles and a 3-speed fan.

Assembly and Warranty

The machine’s frame features a 10-year warranty. Other mechanical parts have a 2-year warranty, the electrical parts a 1-year warranty, and a 990-day warranty for labor. Setting this machine up will take you almost 40 minutes. It comes with a guide that is well illustrated and easy to understand and also the tools to assist you put it together.

Another important feature is the maximum user weight which is set at 300lbs.

Alternatives

As we mentioned earlier, Schwinn 430 elliptical machine is one of the most popular fitness machine found on the higher side of the price range. The Schwinn 430 is definitely more expensive then your average elliptical machine. But it is not without competition.  Nautilus E614 and ProForm Endurance 520E are also other popular machines within the same price range and they are all close rivals. Key points of interest include the resistance level and incline.

While Schwin 430 has 22 resistance levels, ProForm Endurance has 18 but it compensates for this with a higher incline degree set at 20. Both, however, share the same weight capacity, warranty, computerized features and a number of other minor features. The price difference between them is really neglectable.

Nautiulus E614 shares almost a similar price as Schwin 430. Not only that but also the number of workout programs, which is 22 for both, and also the resistance level which is set at 20 for both. Other interchangeable features include the computerized monitor and the grip heart rate.

Overall, all of them share similar features with a slight difference in pricing which perhaps explains why they are close rivals.

  • Product
  • Deals
  • Photos
  • Last reviews
Schwinn 430 Elliptical Machine
Make sure this fits by entering your model number.; Dual track two LCD window system allows you to monitor up to 13 different display feedbacks; Schwinn Connect goal tracking and data export keep you ...
amazon amazon.com
Last price update: 2019-09-02 21:27:39
 We bought the Schwinn 430 after we decided our health club membership wasn't worth it. Best. Decision. Ever. Anyway, we are quite picky when it comes to big purchases, and prefer to buy trusted names, so Schwinn was at the top of the list. Like any smart consumer, we tested it out in a sporting goods store first, and it was super-stable feeling, plus it had all the bells and whistles we wanted: manual settings, heart rate monitor, adjustable incline and resistance, fan, dual display, ipod/iPad dock with speakers, etc. The only other contender was the Life Fitness models, but they were 2x the price and didn't seem to offer much more to justify the price.Basically, once it got to our home it only took me 45min to set up...the assembly wasn't difficult, just bolt on the handlebars, run a cable through the 'spine' and hook it up to the monitor, and bolt on the footpedals.We've used it on a regular basis now for a little over a month, and couldn't be happier...we keep the tension at about 4 (out of 20, which is probably a design contingency in case the Hulk buys one).The best thing about it is that we can get up, grab an iPad, put on Netflix, and watch a TV show or (part of) a film while getting healthy...this really helps to pass the time.Unless you are super-ridiculously-picky, you will be happy with this machine...good quality, nice design, more functionality than most people will ever need, and a great price. For more, check out the reviews here: http://amzn.to/1zbXjgZUPDATE SEPTEMBER 2016 - This thing is still running like a champ, no problems whatsoever, so I'm upgrading my review from 4 to 5 stars. The only thing I have to do is squirt some of this stuff http://amzn.to/2bYznsF on the tracks once every 2-3 weeks to keep it whisper quiet.
December 14, 2014
Let me start off by saying that my initial feelings about this elliptical were very positive, it is smooth, quiet and seemed sturdy but after two catastrophic failures in less than a year I have buyers remorse and no idea what to do with it now. The axle that is part of the flywheel assembly has snapped in half twice. I am not sure if there is too much stress on it due to poor design or if it is just poor quality metal. At 5'11 and 190 lbs I'm pretty sure I'm not too big for it so to have a critical component like that fail twice in less than a year is beyond frustrating. Schwinn will replace the parts but they won't pay for labor to install parts after 90 days and it requires a special tool to remove the old axle and a miracle to get the belt back on after finally getting the new flywheel/axle assembly installed (probably why it comes pre-assembled in the first place). A one time fluke I could tolerate but having this happen again ... time to trade up and invest in something intended for regular use. Very disappointed in Schwinn.Update 4/6/19 - Schwinn eventually replaced the entire unit the 4th time the same parts broke. Unfortunately the new one is also complete garbage. One of the foot peddles cracked and broke within a week of light use and just last week another bolt at the bottom of the left arm assembly sheered off inside the tube - no getting it out. The materials they are using in these are just not meant for stress of any kind, I've never seen bolts sheer like these continue to do every place you need to use them. Was going to replace with bolts from hardware store but I no longer feel safe using this thing or letting anyone else in the family use it ... imagine cruising along and then crashing to the ground with metal shards and handles flying all over. No thanks, this thing is going to the dump and I will never buy anything Schwinn again.
January 17, 2017
I ordered this machine to help me with my weight loss and fitness. I read a ton of reviews for several machines, watched review videos, and compared several side by side. I chose this one because of the price and because it is virtually identical to their top model for $200 less. Only difference is the 470 has a backlit screen and 4 user settings. But given I'm the only one using this machine what good would 3 extra user settings do me?You will have to schedule a delivery day and time when ordering because it must be signed for. But it was super easy and the delivery company bring it right inside your house and put it wherever you want it. That's a nice touch.Unless you order assembly you will have to put it together yourself. It won't take an hour like some people say, that's a great exaggeration. It will take a few hours but the instructions make it really simple and the machine comes with all the tools you'll need to assemble it.Machine went together smoothly with no complications, no broken parts, and no power issues. Everything works exactly like it should. Pay close attention to the power cable when feeding it thru the upright tube to make sure you don't pinch it cause that's probably where power issues come from but if you watch what your doing its really simple. And for all the reviews that complained about squeaking, or grinding sounds. YOU DIDNT READ THE INSTRUCTIONS!! It spells it out clear as day after assembly "take a cloth and the included silicone oil and rub down all moving parts to properly lubricate and keep them from rubbing and wearing out due to friction.This is the quietest and smoothest elliptical machine I've ever used. Definitely worth the money.
September 15, 2016