Schwinn A40 Review

  • Schwinn A40 Review
  • Schwinn A40 Review
  • Schwinn A40 Review
  • Schwinn A40 Review
  • Schwinn A40 Review
  • Schwinn A40 Review

Many of us hold the view that what’s old is old not unless we are talking of wine. And when old looks good to us, we brand it vintage. So like wine, the Schwinn A40 has gotten so much better with age. Call it vintage if you want, this machine is any trainer’s treasured pet. When it comes to aesthetics, Schwinn A40 delights the eyes without much effort and with its compact design, you will be able to save enough space in your room.

So is it a better option for you? Does it have a few hidden flaws? Well, it’s time to find all these out.

  • Product
  • Deals
  • Photos
  • Last reviews
Schwinn A40 Elliptical Machine
The Schwinn Fitness Active Series offers our most streamlined design yet. Partnering premium quality with incredible value, the A40 Elliptical Trainer offers high performance at an affordable price, ...
Start from: $399.00
amazon amazon.com
Last price update: 2019-09-02 17:16:07
Firstly, we are big treadmill people. We live on the second floor in our apartment complex, and after years of slopping around we knew we had to start investing in our health again and a treadmill wasn't an option. An Elliptical was the logical option.We read the reviews and this machine seemed to bring value and quality together. After a few days of using the A40, I'm very pleased and can recommend it to others in the same situation.ASSEMBLYThe box it arrived in is very tightly packed and quite heavy. During the unpack is when I first realized this $400 machine was higher quality than I anticipated as the parts are pretty heavy duty. It took a few hours to put together although we did not rush and took our time. It's super important when assembling the machine to follow the instructions and not fully tighten the bolts until everything is in place or it will cause misalignment of holes and bolts which then can lead to stripping threads - just take your time and do it right.NOISEAs far as the workout goes, I'm a bit in shock of how effective it is. It is VERY silent on carpet and a sturdy machine.STRIDEI'm 5'8" and I've heard others mention the stride length. For me, it seems just about right. I suppose if you are over 5'10" it would start to be uncomfortable.ADDITIONAL PARTS1. The computer is battery powered with an ac adapter option. If you want to run off of ac, take the time to purchase the ac adapter as it is not included. Given the price/quality of this machine, no big deal if you know up front:http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B007JZ4XTS/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o02_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B005VG35Z0/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o03_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=12. The computer is not, at all, backlit. That means if you are using it in the morning in a dark setting, you can't see the screen - at all. Purchase a clip-on book light too. There is a shelf on the computer that works fine for it. Again, given price/quality, not a big deal:http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000ITGQXS/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1OVERALLOverall, we are VERY happy with this machine and again, I can recommend it by taking the time to write this and encourage others to make the plunge.
November 1, 2014
I've had this elliptical for about 2 years now at about 3-4 times per week and so far so good. Only issue after all this time is that a couple of the pivot points have gotten a little squeaky.Pros: Works great and at a great price point. Simple controls to just hop on and go with a good amount of resistance at the max. Perfect for the lightweight home gym enthusiast.Cons: From day 1, the heartbeat sensor never really worked all that well. You need to hold onto the handles a little tight and it eventually ramps up from a comatose number - no, my resting heart rate is not 32 bpm - to what your actual heart rate is. Limited options on the preset challenges get a little boring after a while, but they get the job done.
July 24, 2018
I have had this Elliptical Machine for about a year. It squeals constantly, I have to consistently tighten the nuts and bolts. If you are over 200 Lbs this probably will be too unstable for you. I am sorry I did not spend a couple hundred dollars more to get the next step up Schwinn. I had the 500 / 600 dollar version and it is light years better than the A40!
August 2, 2017
7.8 Total Score

If you are a beginner and looking not to spend so much in owning what would still give you an incredible workout experience, Schwinn A40 is your ultimate choice.  Even though it's an entry-level machine, much of what you get is of great value.  You will definitely come across so many ellipticals in this class but not so many of them match the quality and reliability of this elliptical machine. So if you are in love with the Schwinn brand and you would like to be in possession of one their budget quality elliptical trainers, head over to Amazon and look out for Schwinn A40.

Features
7
Durability
9
Adjustability
7
Display console
8
Value for money
8
PROS
  • Smooth and quiet to use
  • Affordable
  • Multifunctional console
  • Compact design
  • Easy to assemble'
  • EGK pulse sensors
  • Diverse workout programs
  • Easy to move
  • Durability
  • Superior quality
CONS
  • Pretty short stride length
  • Poor set of warrants
  • Console not telemetry enabled
User Rating: Be the first one!

Product Description

When they created it, Schwinn nicknamed this model a no-nonsense trainer. But for it to touted as one, it definitely had a number of features to show for it. Many entry level elliptical machines don’t pack so much into their tiny spaces so let’s see what Schwinn A40 brings.

Resistance and Incline

Schwinn A40 comes equipped with an electromagnetic brake system.  What this implies is that it has a fixed brake pad and to adjust the machine’s tension, you have to do it via the console. To cut off wear and tear, the flywheel was designed never to come into contact with the brake.

Operating the machine’s 8 levels of resistance will require that you connect it to a power supply. At the lower resistance levels, the resistance is hardly felt while at the highest levels, you will face mild resistance. To put it simply, this machine is a perfect selection for intermediate and beginners.

Schwinn A40 doesn’t come with any incline settings. Instead, the creators gave it ergonomic handles that work to support your different workouts and assist you to achieve the same effect you would have gained with an incline adjustment.

Console Unit

A40’s console is pretty decent for its price. It packs 7 workouts and a multifunction LCD display. Part of its workout programs include mountains, fun rides, and other challenges.

Workout data to expect from this console include:

  • Speed
  • Time
  • Distance
  • Revolutions per minute
  • Calories burned
  • Pulse

Other amenities also included on the console include:

  • A sound system
  • EGK pulse sensors
  • MP3, iPod, Tablet, Smartphone compatibility
  • Media tray
  • Cup/ bottle holder

Build quality/design

Part of Schwinn’s A40’s sturdy construction includes a 2-piece frame made of steel and supported by 6 levelers. Users weighing as high as 300lbs admit to having used this machine without experiencing any issue which is enough evidence to show for its toughness. Stability is taken care of by the machine’s heavier weight (90lbs/41kg)

A40’s drive mechanism is sealed by a solid plastic that’s not only tough but aesthetically pleasing. A perimeter weighted flywheel propelled by a heavy duty v-belt add to the stability and ensure a smooth workout.

Keep in mind that the 6 levelers fixed at the base of the machine’s frame help in enhancing the stability.

Comfort

Convenience was a key factor when designing this machine and this is evident by the fact  that its mobile handlebars form a steady curve that enables different grip angles when one is working out. The fixed handlebars as always pack a heart rate sensor for keeping track of your pulse rate.

As a front drive elliptical, designers of this machine could not afford to leave out fixing it with articulating footplates. So in order to reduce the impact on your joints, the footplates articulate when you work out. This movement will also assist your feet to keep a running motion that’s more natural.

Comfort has also been enhanced for users as tall as 6′ by giving the machine a stride length of 17.5″. Another great thing is that you can adjust the machine’s height to compensate the lack of uniformity in the floor.

Assembly and Warranty

Schwinn has for many years kept the reputation of having the most comprehensive instructions. Following these instructions is as easy as ABC. In less than an hour, you will have your machine ready and probably start off your first workout on it.  Many people who’ve bought the machine also admit they had it easy putting it together.

As for the warranty, here’s what to expect:

  • Frame- 2-year warranty
  • Electrical parts- 6-montth warranty
  • Wear parts- 30-day warranty

Alternatives

Schwinn A40, Exerpeutic 5000, and Schwinn 470 are three of the best mid-tier ellipticals in the market today.

Schwinn A40 and Exerpeutic 5000 come so close to each other when it comes to pricing, with only a few dollars between them. Exerpeutic features more resistance levels and workouts than Schwinn and also a couple of additional features like the Mobile App Tracking. Schwinn, on the other hand, is more compact and of very superior quality. Deciding which one to have is mostly a question of performance.

Schwinn 470, a sister model to Schwinn A40 also gives it a run for its money. Whereas Schwinn A40 is pretty cheap, Schwinn 470 packs more workout programs, a more advanced console, more user profiles and so much more to compensate for the price difference. Deciding which one to own between these two models will likely depend on how much you are willing to spend to own an elliptical machine.

  • Product
  • Deals
  • Photos
  • Last reviews
Schwinn A40 Elliptical Machine
The Schwinn Fitness Active Series offers our most streamlined design yet. Partnering premium quality with incredible value, the A40 Elliptical Trainer offers high performance at an affordable price, ...
Start from: $399.00
amazon amazon.com
Last price update: 2019-09-02 17:16:07
Firstly, we are big treadmill people. We live on the second floor in our apartment complex, and after years of slopping around we knew we had to start investing in our health again and a treadmill wasn't an option. An Elliptical was the logical option.We read the reviews and this machine seemed to bring value and quality together. After a few days of using the A40, I'm very pleased and can recommend it to others in the same situation.ASSEMBLYThe box it arrived in is very tightly packed and quite heavy. During the unpack is when I first realized this $400 machine was higher quality than I anticipated as the parts are pretty heavy duty. It took a few hours to put together although we did not rush and took our time. It's super important when assembling the machine to follow the instructions and not fully tighten the bolts until everything is in place or it will cause misalignment of holes and bolts which then can lead to stripping threads - just take your time and do it right.NOISEAs far as the workout goes, I'm a bit in shock of how effective it is. It is VERY silent on carpet and a sturdy machine.STRIDEI'm 5'8" and I've heard others mention the stride length. For me, it seems just about right. I suppose if you are over 5'10" it would start to be uncomfortable.ADDITIONAL PARTS1. The computer is battery powered with an ac adapter option. If you want to run off of ac, take the time to purchase the ac adapter as it is not included. Given the price/quality of this machine, no big deal if you know up front:http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B007JZ4XTS/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o02_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B005VG35Z0/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o03_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=12. The computer is not, at all, backlit. That means if you are using it in the morning in a dark setting, you can't see the screen - at all. Purchase a clip-on book light too. There is a shelf on the computer that works fine for it. Again, given price/quality, not a big deal:http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000ITGQXS/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1OVERALLOverall, we are VERY happy with this machine and again, I can recommend it by taking the time to write this and encourage others to make the plunge.
November 1, 2014
I've had this elliptical for about 2 years now at about 3-4 times per week and so far so good. Only issue after all this time is that a couple of the pivot points have gotten a little squeaky.Pros: Works great and at a great price point. Simple controls to just hop on and go with a good amount of resistance at the max. Perfect for the lightweight home gym enthusiast.Cons: From day 1, the heartbeat sensor never really worked all that well. You need to hold onto the handles a little tight and it eventually ramps up from a comatose number - no, my resting heart rate is not 32 bpm - to what your actual heart rate is. Limited options on the preset challenges get a little boring after a while, but they get the job done.
July 24, 2018
I have had this Elliptical Machine for about a year. It squeals constantly, I have to consistently tighten the nuts and bolts. If you are over 200 Lbs this probably will be too unstable for you. I am sorry I did not spend a couple hundred dollars more to get the next step up Schwinn. I had the 500 / 600 dollar version and it is light years better than the A40!
August 2, 2017