Stamina In-Motion Elliptical Machine Review

  • Stamina In-Motion Elliptical Machine Review
  • Stamina In-Motion Elliptical Machine Review
  • Stamina In-Motion Elliptical Machine Review
  • Stamina In-Motion Elliptical Machine Review
  • Stamina In-Motion Elliptical Machine Review
  • Stamina In-Motion Elliptical Machine Review

So much has taken place in the fitness industry in recent years but one that still holds much weight is the entry of affordable elliptical trainers. Stamina is a brand well known to many for its low-cost trainers.

Contrary to the popular belief that cheap is actually more expensive, Stamina In-Motion actually counters this view with its excellent quality/price motion. On top of being one of the highest rated elliptical trainers on Amazon, the machine is also one of the most affordable.

The best thing about this trainer is that you can train on it while perched on your seat. It could be your chair at home or your desk at work. Sounds crazy, right? Wait, there’s even more to come. Read on to find out

  • Product
  • Deals
  • Photos
  • Last reviews
Stamina InMotion E1000 Compact Elliptical Trainer
For low-impact exercise, nothing beats the Stamina InMotion E1000 Elliptical Trainer. Ellipticals are popular for one very important reason - they provide a similar cardio, calorie-burning workout to ...
Start from: $89.99
amazon amazon.com
Last price update: 2019-09-02 16:29:36
I bought this to use in front of my standing desk. I like it. It's sturdy and heavy...mostly metal parts. It was easy to put together, and for what it is, quite compact.It does not have a large stride...so I don't think it's fair to compare it to an actual workout machine. But for casual "just keep moving" type of exercise, I think it's a nice product.It's quiet too, which is a bonus.All that said, it has, in my opinion, one major flaw: there is no handle on it.The entire point of a compact machine like this, IMHO, is that I should be able to move it easily in and out of position in front of my desk. A handle on the top would have made this incredibly easy. But as it is, there is no easy way to move this. You can't grab it by the pedals, as they move all over the place.So, overall, a really great product but have to withhold one star due to the lack of a handle.UPDATE:As others have reported, one issue is that over time, the wheels start to get 'squeaky'. I've found that the issue is that they simply get a bit dirty and since the wheel slides a bit side-to-side, it causes enough friction that you get the squeak. You can clean the wheels daily, but that is annoying.I finally solved this by getting some 'drawer slide tape'. It's designed for drawers to make them smoother to open. I placed strips on the base where the wheel rides and it's been squeak-free ever since. I think the company should actually provide some strips of this with the product.
June 12, 2017
***Update at bottom***I was so excited to receive this product for under my desk at work. I heard squeaking here and there, but read other reviews that said to spray a little oil and the squeaking would go away. When I sprayed oil, the squeaking would go away temporarily, then come back. Finally drove me nuts enough that I brought it home for my husband to look at to try to fix squeak and occasional clunking. I noticed one pedal wasn't as tight as the the other one and I mentioned that there would also be black shavings on that side. We decided to try to exchange. I went on here and found that my Amazon window to return was only 30 days, I am a week over. I am extremely disappointed as I would have been willing to try this product again, but I am not willing to spend the money to try it again when the company is only willing to stand behind their product for 30 days.***update*** My husband called Stamina and they are willing to stand by their product! They are sending out a new elliptical! Hope this one doesn't have the same issues.
March 25, 2017
I recently purchased this "Under-Desk" Elliptical. Before purchasing I read a lot of product reviews and was VERY hesitant that this was too good of a price for this type of exercise equipment. After lots of research, over several days, I finally decided to buy it. I received it on Friday and I couldn't be happier! It is so quiet; no one (so far) even knows I have it under my desk! (I have a panel in front of me that blocks view from others seeing under my desk.) I have a very narrow, short desk, 24"D x 60"W x 28-1/4"H. I'm able to use this equipment just fine without hitting my knees or obstructing my panel/raceway. I happen to have rainboots on today, which I hadto take off to use the machine without hitting my knees. It's still just as easy to use with socks!I'm not trying to advertise, but I also happen to be a professional interior designer. I know that being in an office all day long can be monotonous, which is partially why I wanted to buy this item myself. Being at a desk all day also prevents me from getting the exercise I so desire. This definitely is worth the buy if you're in the same boat! I would highly recommend it to my clients, as well!One last thing I'd like to share that the product detail doesn't mention is that the legs (steps where your feet rest upon) go up if you don't want to use them. I provided a picture of the legs/glides in the upright position for reference.Hope this review was helpful 🙂
September 20, 2016
7 Total Score
Good!

The best thing about Stamina In-Motion is that you can carry your workouts on it while either seated or standing up. You also have the added benefit of a comfortable and smooth workout, durability, and low maintenance. For its little price, you get great value for your money. But since it only works out your lower body, the machine may not be the best option for an advanced trainer. But for the rest of the users, there's so much to reap from the Stamina In-Motion and it won't break your bank visiting Amazon and placing your order for it today.

Features
6
Durability
8
Adjustability
6
Display console
6
Value for money
9
PROS
  • Sturdy and solid construction
  • Compact design
  • Lightweight
  • Quiet and smooth motion
  • Easy to assemble
  • Little maintenance
CONS
  • Basic fitness monitor
  • A little unstable
  • Durability concerns from Amazon users
User Rating: Be the first one!

Product Description

If you take a quick look at this machine, you wouldn’t think it has anything else beyond a flywheel, foot pedals, and a console. But that’s not all. Stamina In-Motion packs almost everything that a decent elliptical should have.

Resistance and incline

For its resistance, this machine utilizes a friction resistance system. Just below the flywheel, there’s a felt pad connected to the tension knob with the help of a steel cable. Tightening the knob leads to the felt pad pressing against the flywheel which in turns creates more resistance.

Note that the felt-pad is susceptible to wear and tear but to keep it strong and durable, it’s been made thick. That means that it can last several years even if you have a daily workout routine.

With the help of its perimeter weighted flywheel which has been designed to give a decent and consistent momentum, you will still be able to have a continuous pedaling motion without utilizing any resistance.

Fitness meter

In place of a console unit, which is a common feature in almost all ellipticals, Stamina In-motion has a fitness meter. It’s quite basic but it’s able to display pretty every important workout data including:

  • Time
  • Calories burned
  • Distance
  • Total number of stride (Count)

Operating the fitness meter is a relatively easy task as it only features one button that controls everything. When viewing this data, you can opt for the SCAN function which is a feature that will help you navigate through all the values by putting each one of them on standby on the screen for a duration of 6 seconds. You can as well go for the function that enables you to view each of the values all the time.

To power the fitness meter, you can either tap the button or it can power on its own when you start pedaling. After 4 minutes of inactivity, the meter will automatically turn off.

Build quality/ Design

Stamina In-Motion’s build quality is pretty decent for its price. The cranks, axle, and frame are all made of steel and solid enough to take tough punishments. As a matter of fact, users weighing up to 250lbs can comfortably train on this machine. On top of the steel frame, we also have plastic shrouds. Hard plastic has also been used to enclose the drive and brake system.

Stability for this machine is taken care of by its front base plate, chassis, and a rear stabilizer that make use of rubberized feet (rear stabilizer) and foam sheet( front base).

Being a belt driven machine, this implies that it’s a quiet machine and you won’t suffer the pain of maintenance especially when it comes to the transmission.

Another great thing about its design is the ability to pedal forward as well as backward.

Comfort

Comfort for this elliptical trainer comes from several features. First off, there’s the sizeable footplates which are large enough to accommodate feet or shoes of all shapes and sizes. On top of that, they feature a ribbed design constructed out of polyurethane material which helps to boost adherence and comfort when one is working out.

Also important to mention is that due to its compact size, the machine is small enough to fit and be stored almost anywhere. You can keep it under your bed, desk or even inside your closet.

Assembly and warranty

From outside, the machine looks so simple but that doesn’t mean it won’t require some assembly. In as much as the drive and resistance system come already assembled, you will have to put together the remaining parts which include the footrests, rear base, and the front gliding plate. With the help of a comprehensive manual and assembling tools, it might take you anywhere between 15-30 minutes to have this little machine ready.

As for the warranty, here’s what you should expect:

  • Frame-1-year warranty
  • Parts-90 days

Alternatives

It’s easy to conclude that at such a price, Stamina In-Motion hardly has an alternative but that would be a wrong conclusion. Exerpeutic Aero-Air Elliptical and Body Rider BRD2000 Elliptical Trainer are both affordable trainers that come so close to Stamina In-Motion.

Exerpeutic Aero Air and Stamina In-Motion are priced the same but unlike the Stamina In-Motion trainer, the Aero Air comes equipped with dual action workout arms, a console unit, and a few additional workout features. However, they still share a few features like the maximum user weight capacity, footplate design, and warranty. Exerpeutic Aero Air seems to have an edge over Stamina In-Motion but any user who cares a lot about space will definitely go for Stamina In-Motion.

Body Rider BRD2000 also comes in very close but at a slightly higher price. It’s a 2-in-1 machine (an exercise bike and an elliptical trainer) and comes with other advanced workout options not present in Stamina In-Motion. Both are quite popular and so deciding which one to have between the two narrows down to affordability.

  • Product
  • Deals
  • Photos
  • Last reviews
Stamina InMotion E1000 Compact Elliptical Trainer
For low-impact exercise, nothing beats the Stamina InMotion E1000 Elliptical Trainer. Ellipticals are popular for one very important reason - they provide a similar cardio, calorie-burning workout to ...
Start from: $89.99
amazon amazon.com
Last price update: 2019-09-02 16:29:36
I bought this to use in front of my standing desk. I like it. It's sturdy and heavy...mostly metal parts. It was easy to put together, and for what it is, quite compact.It does not have a large stride...so I don't think it's fair to compare it to an actual workout machine. But for casual "just keep moving" type of exercise, I think it's a nice product.It's quiet too, which is a bonus.All that said, it has, in my opinion, one major flaw: there is no handle on it.The entire point of a compact machine like this, IMHO, is that I should be able to move it easily in and out of position in front of my desk. A handle on the top would have made this incredibly easy. But as it is, there is no easy way to move this. You can't grab it by the pedals, as they move all over the place.So, overall, a really great product but have to withhold one star due to the lack of a handle.UPDATE:As others have reported, one issue is that over time, the wheels start to get 'squeaky'. I've found that the issue is that they simply get a bit dirty and since the wheel slides a bit side-to-side, it causes enough friction that you get the squeak. You can clean the wheels daily, but that is annoying.I finally solved this by getting some 'drawer slide tape'. It's designed for drawers to make them smoother to open. I placed strips on the base where the wheel rides and it's been squeak-free ever since. I think the company should actually provide some strips of this with the product.
June 12, 2017
***Update at bottom***I was so excited to receive this product for under my desk at work. I heard squeaking here and there, but read other reviews that said to spray a little oil and the squeaking would go away. When I sprayed oil, the squeaking would go away temporarily, then come back. Finally drove me nuts enough that I brought it home for my husband to look at to try to fix squeak and occasional clunking. I noticed one pedal wasn't as tight as the the other one and I mentioned that there would also be black shavings on that side. We decided to try to exchange. I went on here and found that my Amazon window to return was only 30 days, I am a week over. I am extremely disappointed as I would have been willing to try this product again, but I am not willing to spend the money to try it again when the company is only willing to stand behind their product for 30 days.***update*** My husband called Stamina and they are willing to stand by their product! They are sending out a new elliptical! Hope this one doesn't have the same issues.
March 25, 2017
I recently purchased this "Under-Desk" Elliptical. Before purchasing I read a lot of product reviews and was VERY hesitant that this was too good of a price for this type of exercise equipment. After lots of research, over several days, I finally decided to buy it. I received it on Friday and I couldn't be happier! It is so quiet; no one (so far) even knows I have it under my desk! (I have a panel in front of me that blocks view from others seeing under my desk.) I have a very narrow, short desk, 24"D x 60"W x 28-1/4"H. I'm able to use this equipment just fine without hitting my knees or obstructing my panel/raceway. I happen to have rainboots on today, which I hadto take off to use the machine without hitting my knees. It's still just as easy to use with socks!I'm not trying to advertise, but I also happen to be a professional interior designer. I know that being in an office all day long can be monotonous, which is partially why I wanted to buy this item myself. Being at a desk all day also prevents me from getting the exercise I so desire. This definitely is worth the buy if you're in the same boat! I would highly recommend it to my clients, as well!One last thing I'd like to share that the product detail doesn't mention is that the legs (steps where your feet rest upon) go up if you don't want to use them. I provided a picture of the legs/glides in the upright position for reference.Hope this review was helpful 🙂
September 20, 2016