Schwinn 470 Review

  • Schwinn 470 Review
  • Schwinn 470 Review
  • Schwinn 470 Review
  • Schwinn 470 Review
  • Schwinn 470 Review
  • Schwinn 470 Review

Are you looking to get fit soon? Schwinn 470 Elliptical has the potential to fast track your progress with ease. When it comes to fitness, this machine offers remarkable comfort and stability. It also exposes you to a slew of customizable workout programs not common with many ellipticals.

At its price, there’s isn’t much to complain about. Also adding the fact that Schwinn is a reputable brand, Schwinn 470 doesn’t disappoint. But in order to get the full picture of this machine we must dig deeper, so follow along.

  • Product
  • Deals
  • Photos
  • Last reviews
Schwinn 470 Elliptical Machine
Make sure this fits by entering your model number.; Dual track two LCD window system allows you to monitor up to 13 different display feedbacks; Schwinn Connect goal tracking and data export keep you ...
amazon amazon.com
Last price update: 2019-09-02 21:24:29
I spent a lot of time reading reviews trying to weigh out the pros and cons and of course cost was very important. I really wanted a machine that was mobile (but not folding), quiet and electric slope. I have been going to the gym less but because of my experience on the gym ellipticals I was spoiled with a very solid machine. The box was huge, so make sure they place it where you want to set up. Putting the elliptical together was very easy and the directions were very easy to use. It took my husband and I approximately 1 hour to put together. I like the fact that we can pick up the rear and easily move where we want in the house as there are wheels in front. The face of the machine was very nice and easy to understand when picking programs, intensity, resistance...ext. The machine has the ability to set 4 different profiles (name, weight, height, gender, ext), which is nice because I am on a completely different exerciser than my husband. My husband did not anticipate on using but he loves it. It is so quite and solid you never feel a sway in the machine and the stride is perfect for me (I'm 5'6" 145 and husband is 6'0" 175). It has the ability to plug in to ipod and usb port, I haven't used them yet but a cool feature. I love the fan, which is also quite and does such a good job at keeping you cool. I am very pleased with this purchase, no regrets! Excellent price for the quality of the machine. Again, I make my purchases based on reviews and so I hope this helps with your search in purchasing an elliptical.
January 29, 2014
I would actually have provided the unit with a higher rating if it would not be for some annoying internal calculation issues. Below is a breakdown of what I experienced, what I have been informed. As far as the order, shipment and receipt of the product this was all good. The manual and assembly went well, it took about 2 hrs to put the unit together, the instructions were clear and I had no issues. There may be others if not mechanically inclined I could see there could be some confusion but overall went well.Once set up and plugged in the display came on and was as expected. The console is not as intuitive and the manual for first configuring the unit is not the best I have seen but it is ok. I did make an error in setting up the unit and having to go back in and set the correct dates, times, units of measure etc..., i did get on line and found better instructions.The real issue is how it tracks mileage, calories etc...., this is where the unit really falls flat on its face. The heart rate handles do seem to work well, have not tried a chest strap to compare, although I do have a polar heart rate monitor but it is coded so can not use with this equipment. If you do not care about distance, accurate calories burned then this machine will be ok for you, any OCD personalities will be aggravated by the displays. I have used gym equipment, I run outside using a Garmin watch so I know how far I run in a giving time. This machine shows less than half the distance, and the calorie count is 66% accurate. So as long as these things do not bother you then this is good sturdy piece of equipment.I have contacted Schwinn to discuss this and the response I got was that these units are not set up like the commercial units are. The commercial unit calculations are like all the other machines (revolutions = x number of feet = miles based on certain time) (and I did count the revolutions to ensure the number of revolutions matches the counter on the display, and this seems correct). The agent at Schwinn said that in order to get the correct mileage you have to increase the resistance, (I give her the benefit of the doubt, maybe this is what she was told or she heard incorrectly), in order to go one mile you not only have to do based on the number of feet you walk, but also how much resistance you have the unit set for. Maybe I am wrong, and I may look at it incorrectly but the statement from Schwinn seems to indicate if I carry 100 lbs extra (resistance or load) and walk 2500 feet that may equal 1 mile, as opposed to walking 5280 feet with no weight which would only equal 0.3 miles.The other thing was that one of the other family members got on to use the machine and found it a little hard, seems that the resistance starts off at a higher level resistance, I asked if I could set the default resistance to one as opposed to 2 (agent I talked to said 4), I understand I can drop the resistance manually but had hoped that did not have to, not a big deal, but for others that have not exercised much or starting an exercise program please aware that you may have an issue and find that the resistance maybe too hard to start, and according to Schwinn, unplug the machine and use it that way to build up your fitness level.Please don't misunderstand, I am a little OCD and the display will bother me and continue to bother me and one day (not any day soon) but I will probably take a bat to it. 🙂 I will use the machine and ignore the display and calculations. I like everything else about the machine (incline works well, stored programs are fine) and would recommend it with the exception of the items referenced. Had I been really aware there was no fix for this I probably have gone with a more consumer friendly unit. I did review searches and did find a number of places this was talked about and should have been a flag when there were no postings of resolution. Hope people find this review helpful.
April 26, 2017
Great value if all you want is a smooth operating elliptical. I run it in manual and it provides a great workout.Pros:- Value - compared to other ellipticals this is a great deal- Placement (heaviest piece is only 63 lbs) - I unboxed it at my front door and carried it to my second floor in pieces for assembly- Easy assembly (and easy to disassemble if you need to move it)- Movement - the front support has wheels so if you lift it by the back support it will roll easily- Support - mine was missing a support bolt and they shipped one to meCons:- Built-in speakers - poor quality and no volume control- Speaker jack - mine has a short- Built-in fan moves a small amount of air even in high speed- Build quality - mine was missing a support bolt and I had to wait a week for it to arrive from the west coast- No instructions for operating the programs. Might be available online. I just use it in manual mode.
June 28, 2017
8.6 Total Score
Awesome!

If what you like to have is an elliptical machine that is comfortable, easy to use and packs dozens of innovative features, then Schwinn 470 should be your ultimate choice. Being a mid-tier elliptical machine, it makes for a great buy mostly because it comes from a reputable brand and has everything that will make your workout perfect. Even though it lacks a few features that would make it so much better when it comes to experience and effectiveness, what it packs is still enough to leave you satisfied and ready to use it again. If your goal is to get fit and you have the budget this machine will definitely take you closer to achieving your goal, then by you should not hesitate to make your order for Schwinn 470 on Amazon today.

Features
9
Durability
9
Adjustability
8
Display console
9
Value for money
8
PROS
  • Elegant design and solid construction
  • Comfortable to use
  • Quiet and smooth operation
  • Low maintenance
  • Easy to assemble
  • Remarkable resistance
  • Diverse workout programs
  • Workout tracking
  • Nice computerized features
  • Durable
CONS
  • Lack of enough incline ( capped at 10 degrees)
  • Unreliable pulse rate records due to lack of heart rate chest straps
  • Lack of adjustable stride length
  • It's heavy and pretty difficult to move
User Rating: Be the first one!

Product Description

Even though it’s to be considered a mid-tier fitness machine, Schwinn 470 packs a construction and set of features only found in commercial grade elliptical machines. It’s one of the most inclusive fitness machine implying that so much can be said about it.

The Schwinn Journal 4.5, another top quality model from Schwinn, features exactly the same features as its brother Schwinn 470. So to an extent, this is review serves them both.

Resistance and incline

As you would expect with any Schwinn elliptical fitness machine, Schwinn 470 utilizes a magnetic brake system. When you adjust the resistance, the magnet’s effect to the flywheel will eventually add or cut down the force to the elliptical movement.

On this machine, there are a whopping 25 levels of resistance.  You can adjust the resistance automatically via the console unit. For the resistance and incline to work, you will have to connect to a power source.

Unlike its counterpart, the Schwinn 430, this machine features a motorized incline system, meaning you necessarily don’t need to interfere with your workout so as to adjust the ramp. With a ramp set at 10 degrees accompanied with 10 positions and a 0 degree setting, you will definitely find it easy diversifying your workout and working your muscles out.

Console unit

Ordinarily, it’s hard to run into a console unit packing as many amenities as Schwinn 470’s console unit. Among the things you should expect as part of this console include:

  • A staggering 29 workout programs
  • A tablet tray
  • A 3- speed cooling fan
  • A sound system

It’s important to note that part of the 29 workout programs include 4 customizable workout programs where you can feed your weight, age, height, gender, favorite working values and be able to re-use the program as you want.

You will also be able to share data between your device and the console, thanks to its USB port connection.

As you probably expect, its display window is a DualTrack LCD window. Through its computerized features, you can keep track of:

  • Time
  • Distance
  • Pulse
  • Calories
  • Revolutions per minute
  • Speed

Build quality

Construction and design are two key parts of an elliptical machine. Schwinn 470 packs a steel tubing that is not only resistant to scratches but also corrosion. It’s also worth to note that the machine is relatively heavy. Stability is well taken care of by the fact that it has transport wheel caps and rubberized levels which assist it to achieve remarkable stability.

Comfort

When working out on this machine, you can keep yourself cool, thanks to its 3-speed fan. Not forgetting to mention that you have a water bottle handler and trey to ensure that your items are kept well to ensure comfort when working out. With its 20″ stride length, even taller users will have no problem using it.  Its grips are also stable and very steady. Another thing is the foot treads which are not only large but very comfortable.

Assembly and Warranty

Even though it’s not complicated, putting this machine together might take a little longer than an hour. It’s important to mention that you might need a little bit of help since the machine carries with it a lot of weight that could be too much for a single person to handle. Tools you need to put it together are included in the shipment.

Creators of this machine gave its frame a 10 year warranty, a 2-year warranty to the mechanical parts, a 1-year warranty to the electrical parts and for the labor, a 90-day warranty.

Just like many of its sister brands, the Schwinn 470 has a maximum user weight of 300 lbs.

Alternatives

Both professionals and consumers continue to give Schwinn 470 a top rating mostly due to its ease of operation, comfort and smooth workout experience. Even though Schwinn 430 model came a bit earlier than Schwinn 470, the later packs more incline settings, additional user profiles, and a larger collection of workout programs.

NordicTrack E 7.0Z is another elliptical machine offering close competition to Schwinn 470. Both are bestselling ellipticals but looking further into the details, Schwinn offers so much at a lesser price than the former. NordicTrack E 7.0Z has far less workout apps and resistance levels than Schwinn 70. Only major difference between the two is the incline degree which is set at 20 degrees for NordicTrack E 7.0Z.

Looking at this comparison, it isn’t so hard to see why all these ellipticals come out as close competitors. Each actually compensates for lack of what the other thrives in with another superior feature.

  • Product
  • Deals
  • Photos
  • Last reviews
Schwinn 470 Elliptical Machine
Make sure this fits by entering your model number.; Dual track two LCD window system allows you to monitor up to 13 different display feedbacks; Schwinn Connect goal tracking and data export keep you ...
amazon amazon.com
Last price update: 2019-09-02 21:24:29
I spent a lot of time reading reviews trying to weigh out the pros and cons and of course cost was very important. I really wanted a machine that was mobile (but not folding), quiet and electric slope. I have been going to the gym less but because of my experience on the gym ellipticals I was spoiled with a very solid machine. The box was huge, so make sure they place it where you want to set up. Putting the elliptical together was very easy and the directions were very easy to use. It took my husband and I approximately 1 hour to put together. I like the fact that we can pick up the rear and easily move where we want in the house as there are wheels in front. The face of the machine was very nice and easy to understand when picking programs, intensity, resistance...ext. The machine has the ability to set 4 different profiles (name, weight, height, gender, ext), which is nice because I am on a completely different exerciser than my husband. My husband did not anticipate on using but he loves it. It is so quite and solid you never feel a sway in the machine and the stride is perfect for me (I'm 5'6" 145 and husband is 6'0" 175). It has the ability to plug in to ipod and usb port, I haven't used them yet but a cool feature. I love the fan, which is also quite and does such a good job at keeping you cool. I am very pleased with this purchase, no regrets! Excellent price for the quality of the machine. Again, I make my purchases based on reviews and so I hope this helps with your search in purchasing an elliptical.
January 29, 2014
I would actually have provided the unit with a higher rating if it would not be for some annoying internal calculation issues. Below is a breakdown of what I experienced, what I have been informed. As far as the order, shipment and receipt of the product this was all good. The manual and assembly went well, it took about 2 hrs to put the unit together, the instructions were clear and I had no issues. There may be others if not mechanically inclined I could see there could be some confusion but overall went well.Once set up and plugged in the display came on and was as expected. The console is not as intuitive and the manual for first configuring the unit is not the best I have seen but it is ok. I did make an error in setting up the unit and having to go back in and set the correct dates, times, units of measure etc..., i did get on line and found better instructions.The real issue is how it tracks mileage, calories etc...., this is where the unit really falls flat on its face. The heart rate handles do seem to work well, have not tried a chest strap to compare, although I do have a polar heart rate monitor but it is coded so can not use with this equipment. If you do not care about distance, accurate calories burned then this machine will be ok for you, any OCD personalities will be aggravated by the displays. I have used gym equipment, I run outside using a Garmin watch so I know how far I run in a giving time. This machine shows less than half the distance, and the calorie count is 66% accurate. So as long as these things do not bother you then this is good sturdy piece of equipment.I have contacted Schwinn to discuss this and the response I got was that these units are not set up like the commercial units are. The commercial unit calculations are like all the other machines (revolutions = x number of feet = miles based on certain time) (and I did count the revolutions to ensure the number of revolutions matches the counter on the display, and this seems correct). The agent at Schwinn said that in order to get the correct mileage you have to increase the resistance, (I give her the benefit of the doubt, maybe this is what she was told or she heard incorrectly), in order to go one mile you not only have to do based on the number of feet you walk, but also how much resistance you have the unit set for. Maybe I am wrong, and I may look at it incorrectly but the statement from Schwinn seems to indicate if I carry 100 lbs extra (resistance or load) and walk 2500 feet that may equal 1 mile, as opposed to walking 5280 feet with no weight which would only equal 0.3 miles.The other thing was that one of the other family members got on to use the machine and found it a little hard, seems that the resistance starts off at a higher level resistance, I asked if I could set the default resistance to one as opposed to 2 (agent I talked to said 4), I understand I can drop the resistance manually but had hoped that did not have to, not a big deal, but for others that have not exercised much or starting an exercise program please aware that you may have an issue and find that the resistance maybe too hard to start, and according to Schwinn, unplug the machine and use it that way to build up your fitness level.Please don't misunderstand, I am a little OCD and the display will bother me and continue to bother me and one day (not any day soon) but I will probably take a bat to it. 🙂 I will use the machine and ignore the display and calculations. I like everything else about the machine (incline works well, stored programs are fine) and would recommend it with the exception of the items referenced. Had I been really aware there was no fix for this I probably have gone with a more consumer friendly unit. I did review searches and did find a number of places this was talked about and should have been a flag when there were no postings of resolution. Hope people find this review helpful.
April 26, 2017
Great value if all you want is a smooth operating elliptical. I run it in manual and it provides a great workout.Pros:- Value - compared to other ellipticals this is a great deal- Placement (heaviest piece is only 63 lbs) - I unboxed it at my front door and carried it to my second floor in pieces for assembly- Easy assembly (and easy to disassemble if you need to move it)- Movement - the front support has wheels so if you lift it by the back support it will roll easily- Support - mine was missing a support bolt and they shipped one to meCons:- Built-in speakers - poor quality and no volume control- Speaker jack - mine has a short- Built-in fan moves a small amount of air even in high speed- Build quality - mine was missing a support bolt and I had to wait a week for it to arrive from the west coast- No instructions for operating the programs. Might be available online. I just use it in manual mode.
June 28, 2017