NordicTrack E 7.0 Z Elliptical Review

NordicTrack is a brand well known to many, not because of endless adverts, but due to its reputation as a trusted brand in fitness, health, and wellness sectors. NordicTrack E 7.0 Z is one of their best creations that continues to enjoy domination in the mid-tier category.

NordicTrack packed into this trainer all the features it should have and everything you will need as a user. With this machine, you have the benefit of diverse workout options and programs, an adjustable power incline, a reasonably long stride length, enough resistance levels, and pretty much everything a decent trainer should have.

NordicTrack E 7.0 Z comes pretty close to a commercial-grade model and there’s enough evidence to show for this in its details. In a few minutes, you will find this out.

  • Product
  • Deals
  • Photos
  • Last reviews
NordicTrack E 7.0 Z Elliptical Trainer
Not only does the beyond 7.0 Z Elliptical offer a total-body workout with less impact on your knees, it's also built with an incline ramp that lets you target specific muscle groups. An integrated ...
Start from: $802.46
amazon amazon.com
Last price update: 2019-09-02 15:10:53
The good:I got this for my wife for the specific reason that the feet are close together. Our old elliptical (100-200USD range) was kind of the beginner model. The wheel was between your legs and it made riding it painful for my 5' wife. It had something to do with using a muscle not commonly used when your feet are spread so far apart. This Nordic Track e7.0z has feet that are about 3 inches apart and the pain is gone. The unit is quiet and smooth. The stride is natural feeling. It's more like walking or running than riding a bike. The incline function can change this: 1 is like walking and barely lifting your legs, 5 is more like running or riding a bike where you need to lift your legs farther. The stability is excellent, I never feel as if I could tip it over. The unit was medium in assembly difficulty, not impossible, not 3 pieces that snap together... The resistance is as low or as high as anybody could want and it is electric adjustable. The programs are fine. I usually just go manual and adjust it while i'm going. The tablet holder is AWESOME. If I couldn't watch netflix or youtube while exercising I probably never would. Our galaxy 10" fits great and charges right from the control panel. Amazon delivery for this was excellent. They even brought it downstairs for me which is great because this thing weighs 200 and some odd pounds.The bad:This thing is tall. I am 5'10 and I have 7' ceilings in my basement. If I had the incline all the way up I would hit my head. I am limited to using the first 3 or 4 incline settings.The incline is NOT electric or automatic. You will have to be able to lift about 30 lbs to change it. This isn't a problem for us.I-fit is useless. All that marketing junk about Ifit and running google maps apparently requires a module that is NOT included. Also the Ifit app has terrible reviews.The arm things don't fit well into the connecting pipe. They are bolted in and plenty solid but they will create a squeak eventually due to the poor fitment.The heart rate monitor isn't any better than our old elliptical. It's kind of hit and miss. This is an area where they cheeped out.The built in speakers are pretty weak. I may have a technical issue with my cord or tablet but the volume doesn't go high enough and buzzes when you have your USB also plugged in. My tiny little BRAVEN bluetooth speaker blows this thing away. The beeping from the control panel however will go loud enough to wake your napping children. Odd how that works so well... This is also an area where they cheeped out.Overall we just wanted a smooth machine that feels solid, has as much variable resistance as we needed and holds a tablet or phone. This is it.
March 23, 2016
The pictures do not match the product. The upgraded model is on display and one of the reasons I purchased. I'll update the review after assembly as to how it performs. I read the reviews on Sears and they didn't seem too favorable*Update 10March*Delivered on time and as expected. Just as I suspected this is a different model than what is in shown in the pictures. Took about 3 hours to put together. I highly suggest having a rubber mallet, another set of Allen wrenches, and an electric drill . Or instead of the Allen wrenches just larger hex bits for your drill. I can see this reasonably being done in 30 minutes if you know what you're doing. I commend anyone who puts this together without a mallet though. A few disappointments are that there are no heart sensors on the moving handles, the iFit module is blocked by the tablet holder, the plastic covers are cheap and break easily, came with excessive packaging (everything is wrapped and then bagged then wrapped again) , should have a height and weight indicator for more accurate calorie burn rate, and it should've included another Allen wrench as one of the steps would've been impossible without having a second. As for the positives, it's a solid machine, comfortable stride length (I'm 6'2"), surprisingly customizable workout selection. Very fluid motion, and everything seems to work. The screen itself isn't a plain dots setup. It's a step between lame 1990s dots indicator and an led tv. I'm pleased with the look.Included are the before setup pictures just to give you an idea of what you're doing. A picture of the iFit slot being blocked also. I don't use iFit but for somebody who does this might be important.Overall it's a good machine so far. 4/5 simply because of some quirks. It should be a 3/5 for being misleading but it was still a steal when I bought it at 570Update 14 MarchNew problems and observations have arisen.-Some of the prebuilt programs require iFit module to work at all.-Prebuilt workout programs are not very adjustable. They automatically go to a high level of resistance and expects you to maintain 60+ RPMs. Subsequently beeping at you if you do not maintain this very intense workout. Not friendly to novice exercisers.-My girlfriend who is under 5 foot and around 110 pounds has trouble maintaining momentum at anything greater than 1/20 resistance.-the cup holder is in an awful location and awkward to grab while moving.-the tablet holder has a lip that is very thin. I hesitate to put a tablet in it as it may get stuck. My galaxy s6 edge is a snug fit.-I feel a bumping in the right foot mechanism. Does not impede exercising so far. Just makes an annoying sound.-the heart rate sensor is just terrible. Registers my heart rate between 60-190 with no rhyme or reason. Completely fluctuates.-the calorie sensor does not change depending on your elevation so I suspect the calories burned is more of a guideline than a fact.I have a feeling I will be back here to add more problems as time goes on
March 2, 2016
I just received this today. The delivery person delivered it to my garage. I then unpacked it and moved it to the other end of my house. This was not an easy feat since the machine is heavy and I am a 62 yr old 130 pound woman and didn't have any help. I figure if I can do it anybody can. It did take approximately 3 hours to put together, some instructions were a little hard but it did go together without any extra parts! Again, if I can do it I'm sure most other people wouldn't have a problem. Got on the machine - ok, have to admit I was already tired from putting it together and had already done a 3 mile walk in the morning - did one minute and my legs were shot! I was impressed at how smooth and quiet the machine was. It has an option for ifit - might have considered it if they had given me a trial subscription first. The only things you need to put this together is a rubber mallet and phillips screwdriver - everything else is in the boxes (lots and lots of boxes). Having a second person would definitely make it easier to assemble. The resistance is adjusted with a push of a button which is really nice too. Since the machine seems to be well built and heavy I don't think I will run into any problems with it. If I do I will update this review but so far it is great!
February 13, 2018
7.1 Total Score
Good!

For the price, NordicTrack is offering you a quality elliptical trainer with tons of workout options, great resistance, stride length, intensity options and so much more. You will be far from disappointment if you ever make the decision to own this machine especially if you intend it for home use. Durability and reliability are guaranteed as well.  So make sure you take all the available options into consideration and if you like what comes out, make your way to Amazon and place your order for NordicTrack E 7.0 Z.

Features
7
Durability
8
Adjustability
6
Display console
7.5
Value for money
7
PROS
  • Power adjustable incline
  • Computerized features
  • Solid and sturdy construction
  • Online connectivity
  • Easy to assemble
  • Low maintenance
  • Decent set of warranties
  • Diverse workout options
CONS
  • No cooling fan
  • Console not telemetry enabled
User Rating: Be the first one!

Product Description

A solid construction, iFit technology, a motorized incline, and decent workout apps are the major areas that continue to get credit for being excellent features on this machine. But that shouldn’t convince you that the rest are less good. Every feature of this machine has a solid purpose and here’s the proof.

Resistance and Incline

Just like many top NordicTrack Elliptical trainers, this machine utilizes a Silent Magnetic Resistance technology (SMR) to challenge your workouts. To adjust its 20 levels of resistance, you only to touch a button on the console. And by touching the button on the console unit,  the magnet’s pull will be activated and the effect will be passed on to the flywheel which will, in turn, create more tension for pedaling.

Being a magnetic resistance system, there isn’t much contact between the system’s elements which implies that wear and tear have been kept at a minimum and you also have the benefit of a quiet workout.

NordicTrack E 7.0 Z draws much of its pride from its incline feature.  Its motorized incline system, which is fixed on the front side, connects to the glide rail which doubles up as an incline ramp. Adjusting the incline will lead to the rail raising up at the front resulting in an increase in the intensity of your exercise.

Being a motorized incline, adjustments are done via the console.  You can adjust it up to 20 degrees, which is the set maximum or leave it at 0 degrees which is the lowest level. Note that at 20 degrees, the stride length will be a little shorter by around 2″ whereas at o degrees, the stride length will be at its maximum (20″). If you decide to workout following a custom Google Maps route, your incline will be automatically adjusted with the help of the iFit technology.

Console Unit

The console on this elliptical machine is a multifunctional one. An important feature of nearly all NordicTrack consoles that you can’t fail to appreciate is the iFit technology. With this feature, you can have your machine connected to your smartphone or tablet with the help of a Bluetooth connection. Note that in order to enjoy more workout options from this feature, you will need to subscribe for a full membership.

For the display, you have a 5″ diagonal LED display that comes equipped with a blue backlight to enhance readability.  You can as well experience professional training from each of the 20 built-in workout programs.

Every important data you expect from a workout can be obtained with the help of this console. This includes:

  • Distance
  • Time
  • Pulse
  • Speed
  • Stride
  • Resistance
  • Calories burned
  • Revolutions per minute
  • Stride

Other remarkable amenities included on this console include:

  • Intermix Acoustic Sound System
  • MP3 compatibility
  • Global Google MapsTM routes
  • Water bottle holder
  • Tablet tray

Build quality / Design

NordicTrack E 7.0 Z’s frame is made of heavy-duty steel tubing and to make it resistant to scratches and corrosion, it has been covered with an anti-corrosive paint. In fact, all the steel parts have been made resistant to corrosion and scratches through the same paint.  Hard plastic has been used to enclose the flywheel, pulley, joint covers of the arms, and pedals.

For stability, the machine’s bases have been fixed with adjustable feet which offer a possibility to achieve optimum stability regardless of the floor type.

The machine’s drive system features a quiet and smooth belt drive system supported by a thick v-belt.  Another great part of its drive system is the 15lbs inertia enhanced flywheel which ensures an incredibly quiet, smooth and natural motion.

Comfort

As we mentioned earlier, this machine’s maximum stride length of 20″ is reasonably long enough to accommodate both taller and shorter users. With the help of the machine’s motorized incline, it’s easy to find which length works best for you.

In designing the pedals, much focus was put on comfort and this was achieved by keeping them oversized, including a thick layer of rubber to enhance cushioning, a 2-degree incline, and a suspension mechanism. All these features combine to make your workout comfortable by reducing the impact on your feet, enhancing adherence, and supplying a natural feel.

A thick layer of rubber foam which has been used to cover the machine’s multi-grip handlebars goes into ensuring that you have a secure and comfortable grip. Not forgetting to mention that they’ve been made long enough so as users of all sizes can use the machine and be able to workout at different postures.

Assembly and Warranty

When it comes to assembling this machine, you will need a few extra tools like a rubber mallet and a Philips screwdriver on top of the ones that come included in the package. Putting this machine together isn’t exactly difficult. A comprehensive manual has also been included in the package to make work easier and fast for you. To get it ready, it shouldn’t take you any longer than one hour.

The warranty information is as follows:

  • Frame- Lifetime warranty
  • Parts-1-year warranty
  • Labor- 1-year warranty

Alternatives

Even though NordicTrack E 7.0 Z offers so much for its price, the unfortunate thing is that there’s an elliptical trainer offering the same for a few hundred dollars less.

ProForm Endurance 520E and NordicTrack E 7.0 Z are like twins. The two share many features from, same resistance levels, stride length, a 5″ LED display and an adjustable incline, to the user weight capacity, iFit technology, and so much more.  There aren’t any significant differences between the two and so a user will have a pretty easy time deciding which one to go for between the two.

Another popular alternative is the Schwinn 430. Schwinn 430 is a lot less cheap than the NordicTrack E 7.0 Z and comes with way more workout programs and a few more computerized features like a Dual-track LCD display not present in NordicTrack E 7.0 Z.  However, NordicTrack E 7.0 Z has a more attractive set of warranties and a more solid built quality demonstrated by the life warranty on the frame.

  • Product
  • Deals
  • Photos
  • Last reviews
NordicTrack E 7.0 Z Elliptical Trainer
Not only does the beyond 7.0 Z Elliptical offer a total-body workout with less impact on your knees, it's also built with an incline ramp that lets you target specific muscle groups. An integrated ...
Start from: $802.46
amazon amazon.com
Last price update: 2019-09-02 15:10:53
The good:I got this for my wife for the specific reason that the feet are close together. Our old elliptical (100-200USD range) was kind of the beginner model. The wheel was between your legs and it made riding it painful for my 5' wife. It had something to do with using a muscle not commonly used when your feet are spread so far apart. This Nordic Track e7.0z has feet that are about 3 inches apart and the pain is gone. The unit is quiet and smooth. The stride is natural feeling. It's more like walking or running than riding a bike. The incline function can change this: 1 is like walking and barely lifting your legs, 5 is more like running or riding a bike where you need to lift your legs farther. The stability is excellent, I never feel as if I could tip it over. The unit was medium in assembly difficulty, not impossible, not 3 pieces that snap together... The resistance is as low or as high as anybody could want and it is electric adjustable. The programs are fine. I usually just go manual and adjust it while i'm going. The tablet holder is AWESOME. If I couldn't watch netflix or youtube while exercising I probably never would. Our galaxy 10" fits great and charges right from the control panel. Amazon delivery for this was excellent. They even brought it downstairs for me which is great because this thing weighs 200 and some odd pounds.The bad:This thing is tall. I am 5'10 and I have 7' ceilings in my basement. If I had the incline all the way up I would hit my head. I am limited to using the first 3 or 4 incline settings.The incline is NOT electric or automatic. You will have to be able to lift about 30 lbs to change it. This isn't a problem for us.I-fit is useless. All that marketing junk about Ifit and running google maps apparently requires a module that is NOT included. Also the Ifit app has terrible reviews.The arm things don't fit well into the connecting pipe. They are bolted in and plenty solid but they will create a squeak eventually due to the poor fitment.The heart rate monitor isn't any better than our old elliptical. It's kind of hit and miss. This is an area where they cheeped out.The built in speakers are pretty weak. I may have a technical issue with my cord or tablet but the volume doesn't go high enough and buzzes when you have your USB also plugged in. My tiny little BRAVEN bluetooth speaker blows this thing away. The beeping from the control panel however will go loud enough to wake your napping children. Odd how that works so well... This is also an area where they cheeped out.Overall we just wanted a smooth machine that feels solid, has as much variable resistance as we needed and holds a tablet or phone. This is it.
March 23, 2016
The pictures do not match the product. The upgraded model is on display and one of the reasons I purchased. I'll update the review after assembly as to how it performs. I read the reviews on Sears and they didn't seem too favorable*Update 10March*Delivered on time and as expected. Just as I suspected this is a different model than what is in shown in the pictures. Took about 3 hours to put together. I highly suggest having a rubber mallet, another set of Allen wrenches, and an electric drill . Or instead of the Allen wrenches just larger hex bits for your drill. I can see this reasonably being done in 30 minutes if you know what you're doing. I commend anyone who puts this together without a mallet though. A few disappointments are that there are no heart sensors on the moving handles, the iFit module is blocked by the tablet holder, the plastic covers are cheap and break easily, came with excessive packaging (everything is wrapped and then bagged then wrapped again) , should have a height and weight indicator for more accurate calorie burn rate, and it should've included another Allen wrench as one of the steps would've been impossible without having a second. As for the positives, it's a solid machine, comfortable stride length (I'm 6'2"), surprisingly customizable workout selection. Very fluid motion, and everything seems to work. The screen itself isn't a plain dots setup. It's a step between lame 1990s dots indicator and an led tv. I'm pleased with the look.Included are the before setup pictures just to give you an idea of what you're doing. A picture of the iFit slot being blocked also. I don't use iFit but for somebody who does this might be important.Overall it's a good machine so far. 4/5 simply because of some quirks. It should be a 3/5 for being misleading but it was still a steal when I bought it at 570Update 14 MarchNew problems and observations have arisen.-Some of the prebuilt programs require iFit module to work at all.-Prebuilt workout programs are not very adjustable. They automatically go to a high level of resistance and expects you to maintain 60+ RPMs. Subsequently beeping at you if you do not maintain this very intense workout. Not friendly to novice exercisers.-My girlfriend who is under 5 foot and around 110 pounds has trouble maintaining momentum at anything greater than 1/20 resistance.-the cup holder is in an awful location and awkward to grab while moving.-the tablet holder has a lip that is very thin. I hesitate to put a tablet in it as it may get stuck. My galaxy s6 edge is a snug fit.-I feel a bumping in the right foot mechanism. Does not impede exercising so far. Just makes an annoying sound.-the heart rate sensor is just terrible. Registers my heart rate between 60-190 with no rhyme or reason. Completely fluctuates.-the calorie sensor does not change depending on your elevation so I suspect the calories burned is more of a guideline than a fact.I have a feeling I will be back here to add more problems as time goes on
March 2, 2016
I just received this today. The delivery person delivered it to my garage. I then unpacked it and moved it to the other end of my house. This was not an easy feat since the machine is heavy and I am a 62 yr old 130 pound woman and didn't have any help. I figure if I can do it anybody can. It did take approximately 3 hours to put together, some instructions were a little hard but it did go together without any extra parts! Again, if I can do it I'm sure most other people wouldn't have a problem. Got on the machine - ok, have to admit I was already tired from putting it together and had already done a 3 mile walk in the morning - did one minute and my legs were shot! I was impressed at how smooth and quiet the machine was. It has an option for ifit - might have considered it if they had given me a trial subscription first. The only things you need to put this together is a rubber mallet and phillips screwdriver - everything else is in the boxes (lots and lots of boxes). Having a second person would definitely make it easier to assemble. The resistance is adjusted with a push of a button which is really nice too. Since the machine seems to be well built and heavy I don't think I will run into any problems with it. If I do I will update this review but so far it is great!
February 13, 2018